top of page

Benefits of spending time outdoors.

Updated: Mar 10, 2021

This beautiful weather we’re experiencing is a much needed mood booster as we’re all getting to experiencing the many benefits of being outdoors which include;


💚 Spending lots of time outdoors means we get adequate supplies of the sunshine vitamin, vitamin D, which doesn’t just help support our immune system, but boosts our mood too!


💚 Being outdoors in places known as ‘greenscapes’ raises seratonin levels ( the happy hormone) something we could all do with right now!


💚 Low levels of vitamin D can already lead some people to suffer from SAD (seasonal affective disorder) and with lockdown on top of that, it’s even more important to get outside as well as taking a vitamin D supplement.


💚 Researchers from the University of Exeter have found that people who spend time in areas with more trees, birds and shrubs are less likely to suffer from depression, anxiety and stress. Those who spent less time outdoors were also more likely to report poor mood, due to less vitamin D.


💚 In Japan they even have “forest therapy” whereby people suffering from depression are prescribed with spending time in forests. I know myself that being outdoors, particularly in forests, improves my mood instantly so I’m happy to see that science now backs this up!


💚 Regular moderate exercise outdoors also keeps the immune system functioning well, yet another much needed benefit for these strange times we’re living in.


I’m blessed with beautiful forests within my 5km and regular walks help calm my mind, soothe my soul and boost my mood 💚


Where’s your favourite place to exercise? Despite being a water sign I’m not drawn to beaches at all!

#outgreenscape #im#vitamindbenefits #healthiswealth💚 @ Wexford, Ireland

23 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page