top of page

My Breastfeeding Journey

Updated: Aug 1

It’s World Breastfeeding week the 1st to the 7th of August, and to celebrate that I thought I’d share my personal breastfeeding experience here!


Growing up, I’d witnessed my mother and some of her friends breastfeeding and my initial reaction was “yuck, I’m never doing that!”


Fast forward 10 years when at 20 I became pregnant with my first child, Myles, who’s now 27 and thanks to an information leaflet from the Rotunda hospital that all changed thankfully!


They gave all expectant mothers a leaflet listing all the benefits of breastfeeding not just for babies, but for mothers and the planet too!


It’s now widely acknowledged that breastfed babies are at a much less risk of infections, allergies, learning problems, SIDS, obesity and diabetes to name but a few, but did you know that breastfeeding mothers have a reduced risk of breast and ovarian cancers, postnatal depression, haemorrhage after delivery and also more weight loss? Also, as most mothers don’t get their menstrual cycles back until about 6 months, it saves buying sanitary wear and breastfeeding means you don’t have to buy formula either, so both of these are beneficial for the environment.


Having read all of these benefits and more I decided I’d at least give it a shot. Breastfeeding rates back then were only at 30% and that was just the first few days, they declined rapidly to 10% after that, and in a ward of 12, I was the ONLY one breastfeeding!


This is where my mothers expertise came in so valuably, and if it wasn’t for her knowledge, support and encouragement, I too would have thrown in the towel during that first week!I realise I was very lucky in this respect, as so many women attempting breastfeeding for the first time give up due to lack of support, knowledge and help.


After a tough first week, where latching was extremely painful due to having flat nipples, things became slightly easier thereafter, especially when I found the most comfortable way to feed him, which was me was lying down. I even completed my final exams when he was 3 months thanks to successfully expressing and freezing my breast milk for him. ( If you’re planning on expressing the advice is to wait until baby is 6 weeks and breastfeeding is established to avoid confusion and make the process go more smoothly.)


I continued on for a year as that’s how long my mother had fed all 6 of us so that’s why a year was my goal and my barometer. It wasn’t until I attended breastfeeding support groups like La Leche League Ireland, where I met other women who continued breastfeeding past a year, and thanks to their information and support I fed my other 2 children for 3 and 2 years respectively.


Now you might think that this is a very long time but in fact nature intended us to stop around age 6 when the “milk teeth” fall out, this is exactly why they’re called “milk teeth”as once they’re gone, the requirement for milk is no longer there. The average age of weaning in tribes is 6, which concurs with this, but it’s very much frowned upon in western society as it’s not the “norm” but do what works best for you and your family that’s what I say!


While pregnant with my third child I also began training to become a breastfeeding counsellor and completed 7 out of 8 modules. I didn’t finish as I lost my third child, and was too consumed with grief to complete it.


I remain an avid supporter of a breastfeeding and have influenced many friends and family to breastfeed too and I also have helped many to overcome any feeding issues, over the last 20 years.


Knowledge is definitely power when it comes to breastfeeding, as had I not read that leaflet my journey may have been very different! So if you want to succeed at breastfeeding my advice is read all the books you can about it and join a support group, these definitely helped me on my breastfeeding journey especially when it comes to feeding difficulties and understanding growth spurts.


Rates in Ireland, although now at 50%, are the lowest in the world, and there are many reasons for this, the influence of the Catholic Church and the prevalence of the dairy industry to name but a few. Thankfully they are increasing every year thanks to better ante natal education and government funding for awareness campaigns.


One thing I struggled with, especially on my first, was breastfeeding in public, and it’s now actually illegal to ask somebody to stop if they do so in a public place, so this is great progress too. I found using a scarf or wearing clothes that I could lift up rather than button down immensely helpful in this respect. You’re also legally entitled to take breastfeeding breaks in work, which again is great progress.


Where breastfeeding came into it’s own for me was travelling, as all I needed for any journey, here or abroad, was already attached to me and ready prepared, completely sterile, at the right temperature, no equipment needed and always readily available.


I also found it invaluable after vaccinations when my babies needed comforting. In fact it was an instant soother for lots of other things too, if they fell, were tired or in any way upset, they were magically soothed with a feed, as breastfeeding is way more than just a food.


I also adored the lovely calm feeling breastfeeding gave me, this is thanks to the love and bonding hormone – oxytocin, which is released during every feed, and the benefits also extend to helping babies feel calmer too. This is the one thing I miss most about it, if only you could bottle that feeling, it’s such a natural high!


2% of women physically can’t breastfeed so if you’re in that percentage, formula has come on in leaps and bounds, so there’s no need to feel any guilt or anxiety if breastfeeding either didn’t work out, or if you chose not to.


Even if babies just get those first few days of colostrum known as “liquid gold” as it’s packed full of antibodies to help fight infection, this will hugely benefit his or her health. However to reap the full benefits of the protection breastfeeding provides the WHO ( World Health Organisation) recommends exclusive breastfeeding for 6 months and then for 2 years and beyond accompanied by solid food.


In fact, if you get ill, your breast milk produces antibodies to protect your baby from getting the infection and it also changes according to the temperature, becoming more watery on hot days for hydration, how amazing is that?


How was your breastfeeding journey? I’d love to hear in the comments below and also feel free to message me with any queries you may have and I’ll answer them if I can.


So if your circumstances allow, I highly recommend breastfeeding for all of the above reasons and more. Here’s to both increasing and normalising breastfeeding in Ireland!

182 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page