top of page

Reflexology, how it personally benefitted me.

Updated: Jul 5, 2020



Since the birth of my fourth child, 14 years ago, my menstrual cycle has gotten progressively heavier, so much so that for the last 5 years I’ve been housebound on day 2, when it’s at its heaviest.

It’s been quite debilitating as you can imagine and I’ve missed work and lots of important events and also I’ve had to resort to taking anti haemorrhaging drugs every month. I chose these over the suggested medical solutions, as burning off the lining of the womb or having the coil inserted are not routes I want to go down, though they’ve been very successful for a lot of women.

I’ve always preferred the natural solution where possible, and I’d rather find the cause of the problem to treat both it and not just the symptoms.

Countless medical examinations found no cause and I was told ” it was just one of those things” that’s very common in women my age.

I tried various treatments and supplements and did get relief initially from Angus castus but unfortunately it stopped working after 6 months.

As fate would have it, I bumped into Aisling Gall, from “the healing space” in my local health food shop and when she told me that she was a reflexologist I asked her could it help with menstrual issues.

I was delighted to hear that it can help to clear deep physical blockages and bring the body into balance as I suspected my issues may be due to a hormonal imbalance.

I booked in for a session the following week and went to my appointment not feeling very optimistic to be honest as I’d tried lots of things at this stage with very little success!

I decided to use the treatment as a chance to relax and unwind and practice some self care if nothing else and I thoroughly enjoyed the process as Aisling got to work.

Aisling tailor makes treatments for her clients and although she used reflexology on me, reiki would be working through me as Aisling’s intent would always be to help the client as much as possible by using multiple treatments for maximum benefits.

Aisling also made up an aromatherapy blend to massage into my feet to enhance the treatment as the feet are one of the quickest body parts to absorb essential oils.

After the treatment I felt relaxed and energised and waited in trepidation for my first cycle after the treatment to arrive. Day 1 as always was the lightest so nothing new there and I was my usual nervous self on day 2, not daring to leave the house and with my anti haemorrhaging drugs at the ready. However day 2 was even lighter than day one as was the rest of my cycle! It was like my cycle as a teenager before I had kids! I didn’t get too excited though as after suffering so long I thought it might just be a fluke.

I went along for my 2nd session and Aisling was delighted with my progress. My second and third menstrual cycle were again normal but I still had that anxiety that at any minute I’d haemorrhage as it had been a part of my life for so long. My fourth cycle since beginning my reflexology sessions, has just finished and like the first 3 cycles it was a normal one. The only difference is that this time I was more relaxed and I believed I was going to have a normal cycle and not haemorrhage. I am a different person now during my time of the month and can finally relax now and not live in fear, I cannot tell you how life changing this is for me and such a relief! Aisling should change the name of her service to “healing hands” as they have totally healed me! I will continue to have maintenance sessions with Aisling as I’m terrified of my cycles reverting back to how they were before!

So what exactly is reflexology? This ancient art is immensely powerful. All the internal organs and structures are mirrored on the feet and by pressing these reflexology points it can restore a balance to the corresponding structure in the body. By stimulating a series of points you can influence your bodies internal balance. Your feet are like a map with the spinal column running up the arch of each foot and the head and the neck at the big toe, and it continues to reflect the layout of your body with the good snd pelvis at the heels. It’s all about bringing balance back to the body and it may not be a physical block but an energy block that affects the functioning of the organs or structures. It’s also about bringing the body back into a state of homeostasis in which the body can heal itself.

Reflexology can help to clear deep physical blockages, influence hormonal balance and detoxify. It’s used to treat a wide variety of conditions and is great for relieving stress and many people feel more energised and positive after a treatment. Collectively it will boost body health, relaxation and vitality and profoundly enhance repair and rejuvenation.

Most people require 4-8 sessions depending on their condition but I’m going to be a client for life after the amazing success I’ve had with reflexology!

Of course it goes without saying, if you suffer similar symptoms to what I did, always get checked out by your Gp first to rule anything else out before you embark on this or any other alternative therapies.

I’m so happy and relieved and I cannot thank Aisling enough for her amazing work! So if you suffer from similar and have been checked out by your Gp but prefer not to go down the medical route, I’d highly recommend giving reflexology a go! It’s not an understatement to say it has completely changed my life!

48 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page